

ARTILLERY OCS ALUMNI PO Box 33612 Fort Sill, OK 73503-0612 580-355-JARK (5275)



Artillery OCS Alumni Chapter Membership Meeting - June 18, 2024

The meeting was called to order at 1115. This was the first meeting in the new Artillery Officer Candidate School Heritage Hall at Fort Sill. Chapter members present for this historic meeting in alphabetical order:

COL (Ret) Thomas Brown, LTC (Ret) Mike Dooley, Mrs. Penny Dunham, Mr. Randy Dunham, Mr. Bill Ford, COL (Ret) Alvin Ginsberg, COL (Ret) Harvey Glowaski, Mrs. Merrie Glowaski, LTC (Ret) John Mennig and LTC (Ret) Fred Rowzee.

Special Guests present were Mrs. Alvin Ginsberg, LTC (Ret) Micheal Glowaski and COL (Ret) Tony Puckett.

President Bill Ford expressed his deep appreciation for the dedication of the Team members who worked tirelessly over the last five years to make the Heritage Hall a reality.

The Heritage Hall Committee (Team) Members:

Bill Ford, Harvey Glowaski, Mike Dooley, Randy Dunham and Penny Dunham from the Artillery OCS Alumni. Frank Siltman, Gordon Blaker and Michelle Mabry from the Museum system. Mike Brown, Chris Boyd and Kirsten Sellen from CDBL.

Special Thanks to more than 825 Artillery OCS Alumni and Friends who provided financial support to the project.

Election of Directors: Michael Dooley, Mendell Schelin and Penny Dunham were elected to serve as Directors for a 3-year term (October 1, 2024 to September 30, 2027).

For the record:

The 3-year terms of Directors Rich Cobin, Harvey Glowaski and Wayne Hunt end on September 30, 2026. The 3-year terms of Directors Bill Ford, John Mennig and Randy Dunham end on September 30, 2025.

Financial reports were presented. (copy attached)

Progress report:

Artillery OCS Alumni Website continues as a work in progress: <u>https://artilleryocshistory.org/index.html</u>

All available Hall of Fame pictures are now on the website. 837 Biographical sketches of the 1,359 HOF Inductees have been uploaded with 522 left to go.

Biographical information is on the website for Fallen Comrades from WW II, Korea and Vietnam.

Eight Vietnam KIA plates are ready to be added to the Vietnam Memorial and a new Korean War KIA plaque will soon replace the existing temporary plaque inside Heritage Hall. In response to comments from a director we will add a directory adjacent to the Vietnam Memorial with the row and column locations for every name on the memorial. 22 rows and 15 columns.

The Kiosks that will soon be placed inside Heritage Hall will have pictures and bios of all HOF members and images of all available class photos as well as most of the digital archives of the Artillery OCS. Biographical information for 1,332 Fallen Comrades and the class rosters will also be available.

The Artillery OCS Endowment Fund with the Lawton Community Foundation current balance is \$198,593.37. A distribution of approximately \$9,700 is expected in November.

The BOD will consider applying for a grant of up to \$5,000 from the Lawton Community Foundation to help with the purchase of a kiosk (classroom technology) for the Museum and/ or matching grant of up to \$5,000 for the Endowment Fund. This was not discussed at the membership meeting due to an oversight. The application deadline is June 30.

Business:

A motion to contribute \$3,000 to the Artillery OCS Alumni Endowed Scholarship in Leadership at Cameron University was approved.

The amendments to the bylaws recommended by the Board of Directors were approved as written. (copy of the revised bylaws attached).

A meeting of the membership will be conducted by Zoom at a date to be determined (NLT September 30, 2024). This will be the first authorized electronic meeting of the membership using an internet meeting service.

The meeting was adjourned at 1200.

President Bill Ford provided refreshments during the meeting and a light lunch for all members and guests after the meeting adjourned.

Randy C. Dunham

Randy C. Dunham Secretary

Chapter Officers and Directors (2024)

President: Bill Ford Vice President: Harvey Glowaski Treasurer: Mike Dooley Secretary: Randy Dunham Director John Mennig Director Wayne Hunt Director Rich Cobin Director Mendell Schelin Director Penny Dunham